Book Worm

As of Fall 2011, I have been enrolled in the Practical Nursing program at a college in my town. I started four weeks ago, and so far everything is going well! I’m totally buried in books and studies. It can be stressful at times, but at the end of the day, it’s always worth it to see a good grade and to know it goes toward my future!

My college has one of the highest esteemed nursing programs in the region. Our lab consists of a hospital setting with fully functional hospital beds, and even 10,000 “dummies” built by NASA that replicate human behaviour! We can take their blood pressure, heart rate, pulse, amongst other activities and skills. We haven’t personally started to do this yet, but I’m very excited for when we do. In four more weeks, I will be placed in a clinical setting (a long-term care facility) nearby. I can’t wait for this to happen!

I will try to document these things to the best of my ability, hopefully I can get as many pictures and videos as possible. So far I’m doing well in all of my courses and have completed some of the mandatory components needed for my clinical placement. I have completed a criminal record check, half the process of my immunizations, and just need to achieve a certificate in CPR & First Aid.

More to come! = )

